Join GayCities, the fun way to discover the world

See where your friends and people like you are going and what they say about places and events worldwide.

Back to Mean Bull

ALL REVIEWS FOR MEAN BULL (39)

  • sluttypumpkin gave this place *
    what a joke
    this proves what a joke gay cities is. nobody thinks this bar is gay by mainstream gay standards. it's guys on the DL and black guys who want them. it's on a deserted side street in a dangerous area next to the bathhouse. nice.

    Aug 17, 2013 at 5:11am ·

  • beardedgermancub gave this place *
    not gay
    A hip hop club for str8ts.

    Jul 4, 2012 at 5:35am ·

  • juniorprof2013 gave this place *
    ?
    how can the guys under me be fans? the bar is not gay and any gay man who tries to drink here will be bashed or pushed out.

    Jun 27, 2012 at 8:43am ·

  • luckydudewestside gave this place *
    on the DL?
    hard core black wannabe thugz. imagine the smell of hip hoppers sweatin and rank boi pussy. if that gets ya to creem in yo jeans, then hit it up. but be prepared to get raped in the parkin lot.

    Jun 17, 2012 at 3:48pm ·

  • JohnSmith gave this place *
    You've been warned!
    Like other commenters have written, the Mean Bull is NOT the place to be if you are LGBT in Cleveland. I hadn't been there in a while and stopped by, needless to say I didn't stay. The crowd was not a LGBT crowd. The bathrooms were FILTHY. Bartender didn't know how to make a common drink request. I've had friends say they were being ripped off by bartenders trying to short change them....the list goes on and on. Charles Fleck may have run a great business back in the 70's and 80's or even the 90's but between the current condition of Flex and how things are being run at Mean Bull, clearly the man is WAY past his prime. It is a damn shame that there is so much incompetence in the gay bar scene in Cleveland when the rest of the city seems to be moving forward.

    May 10, 2012 at 3:55am ·

  • PdxJock503 gave this place *
    Thugs and Drugs
    Stay away... No longer a Gay bar. Gross is an understatement. Not safe

    Apr 3, 2012 at 10:22pm ·

  • poloclub reviewed
    Blacks ONLY
    This is the most RACIST bar I ever went to. I'll keep my money and me in the burbs Google THUGS and MEAN BULL pops up. Never again.

    Mar 25, 2012 at 6:25am ·

  • musclepig gave this place *
    Officially No Longer a Gay Bar
    Mean Bull has gone hip-hop/urban. No longer being promoted as a gay establishment and is being run by an outside company.

    Jan 29, 2012 at 2:56pm ·

  • soccerjock1981 gave this place *
    Fo Shizzle
    The bar has a trendy look and convenient to freeway and the baths but otherwise dont bother. I was surprised too to find the large black crowd. Cleveland should have a black gay bar and this one is probably the best location of all the bars to go black. But when a bar goes black in cleveland the white men disappear, gay included. I predict this club will either close in two months or else will be hiphop central for gay Cleveland with no whites to be found.

    Aug 22, 2011 at 2:04am ·

  • JustWondering gave this place *
    When did it change?
    When the Mean Bull first opened, it was a beautiful bar that had a certain type of small and friendly environment where you felt safe. Now it has totally transformed itself to a African American bar almost every night there open with police and rough security that harass its patrons. I understand you have to make your money to stay a float, but the new environment doesn't work. And how does a gay bar attached to a bath house start having a black lesbian night? That's very RANDOM?

    Jun 29, 2011 at 2:53pm ·

  • gowangagowanga gave this place *
    Dans rock bool
    meesa meesa

    May 18, 2011 at 10:24pm ·

  • topdog75 gave this place *
    all dance floor tiny bar
    nice bar but rough neighborhood. awkward spot for cruising since bars so narrow and long.

    May 10, 2011 at 1:46am ·

  • Nomadic gave this place *
    Dead on friday
    I went to this bar first, before moving on. There was a military event going on, for the 9 patrons in the bar. They were all older men, so i'm guessing the twinks skipped the bull on Friday. Music was nice, but nobody dancing. It has potential, there's no cover, and a bigger floor size, friendly staff. If only people would GO. People make the business, the business doesn't make the people.

    Feb 21, 2011 at 2:45am ·

  • sportsguy71 gave this place *
    Hit or Miss
    they play decent dance music on the weekend but usually nobody dances. bartenders are hot. some weekends it's crowded and some there might be 15-20 people there

    Feb 17, 2011 at 7:32pm ·

  • clejock1982 gave this place *
    This is not the Warehouse District, people!
    The heading says "Historic Warehouse District." This is not true. Its by the Flex Baths in a less than nice part of the downtown fringe. Yes, the name "Mean Bull" implies a rough trade kinda place, but such a bar this is not. Strictly run of the mill, ordinary gays. Not worth the long trip to the edge of civilization, in my opinion.

    Nov 25, 2010 at 6:47am ·

  • steveo25 gave this place *
    Why call the bar
    The name suggests a leather bar. It's a twink, metro kinda bar.

    Nov 6, 2010 at 4:36am ·

  • JoshJay2010 gave this place *
    Boring
    No fun, just posing. Stand and model is for twink pre-grown-ups, not for men of real age. I won't return.

    Sep 5, 2010 at 6:25pm ·

  • Notyourbeyotch gave this place *
    Time for some honesty
    There was an opportunity to open a new classy club in Cleveland, so...we get another tiny bar in a bad neighborhood. That's not a racist statement. Around the corner and about two blocks away is a notorious crack-buying bar. A blue-collar union hangout is also very close (sound gay friendly???). Drive along Hamilton Avenue and you will see strange alien sights like homeless? men fighting and yelling in the street. Turns out a shelter and day labor places are nearby. This is where someone, with money, invested his funds, in a bathhouse complex and bar in such a seedy shady area. Again, why??? When will Cleveland learn? This is not a safe neighborhood, and I have no idea who these folks are who post positive reviews of this bar. You really should be driving in this area after drinking. If your car breaks down and your out of cash, you are out of luck.

    Sep 1, 2010 at 5:37am ·

  • bulldoguy gave this place *
    Fun
    I had fun. So did my friends.

    Mar 8, 2010 at 4:10am ·

  • babydaddy49 gave this place *
    Skeezetown
    Mean Bull is located in arguably the worst part of downtown. Homeless men. Car break ins. Rapes. Carjackings. Drug dealing. A couple of people were attacked a few blocks away during the Chinese New Year celebration at Asia Plaza. Why would any one want to go here, especially at night when traffic is minimal and criminals come out? A strange neighborhood for a bar, or a bathouse. It's black, Chinese, industrial, and poor. Why do the owners think a bunch of limpwristed fags are going to trek over here? Specially when the Leather Stallion is right on St Clair.

    Mar 6, 2010 at 3:43am ·

  • bettesboy gave this place *
    Slurp Slup, No thanks
    I was trying to enjoy my drink when an older gentleman approached and asked if I wanted to go to his room to see his dildo collection. Sorry, I'm not into 12inch black sex toys. YeeK!

    Mar 6, 2010 at 3:15am ·

  • rednekbear gave this place *
    No fur here
    The baths were mildly fun. This bar was no fun. Metrosexual types (the gay variety) plus assortment of guys who would be described as twinkish cubs or cubbish twinks. Not our kind of bar. We like our men with fur and beef. We partied at the Stallion after cruising the Flex.

    Mar 5, 2010 at 2:30pm ·

  • jakemaloneysboyfriend gave this place *
    Bullsheet
    Reading these reviews i'm wondering....are some of these guys on the payroll or what? If anything, don't "lighten up!" The truth: the area is seedy. Or maybe dangerous, depending on your idea of danger. Strange men wander the back streets at night...are they hustlers, drug dealers, homeless guys, I dont know, but they are disturbing. It is a very dark and creepy area at night, even though its basically a stones throw from the Leather Stallion leather and bear bar. As for being attached to a sex club, I couldn't care less. But lets get real, boys. How many of us want to tell our friends that we partied at a bathhouse bar?! Very '70s! If this bar were located on the gay strip of Clifton, it would be ok, but not where it is now. I want to go to a club, not a sex club bar. I want to drink in a reasonably secure environment. For the average gay barhopper, MeanBull is Bullcrap.

    Mar 5, 2010 at 1:55pm ·

  • sspdjman gave this place *
    Lighten up
    This is a great bar. The location might not be in the best area of town but the bar and parking lot are enclosed and very secure. The bar is sexy without being trashy and the staff is friendly. And it's within walking distance of the bathhouse for those who might not be ready or able to drive home at closing time. I promise its classier to cruise the bathhouse than it is to be pulled over receiving a DUI.

    Mar 4, 2010 at 9:40pm ·

  • mydickisyourmaster gave this place *
    Nothing mean bout mean bull
    The straight dope, homeys- - - Mean Bull sounds like it should be a leather or bondage bar. Sorry. Its a dancing queen club.

    Mar 4, 2010 at 6:57am ·

  • gagaiskaka gave this place *
    Here's the TRUTH
    Don't Go! Bar is located in very dangerous district. Homeless men wander the streets at night. Desolate and isolated area in an industrial district by the train tracks and old warehouses. Main drag of St. Clair Ave is sort of OK. That's where the Stallion is. I've heard of guys who had their car windows smashed even on St Clair. Well, the Bull may be technically separate from the Flex Baths, but it is attached to the complex. Everyone knows that you are going to the baths complex if they see you park in the immediate area, so if you are closeted or afraid to be noticed, be forewarned. No legitimate businesses in the area. A crack bar- the Magic City- a notorious place, is nearby. A very high crime area. Nearby on Payne Avenue, carjackings and assaults happen too often. Honestly, guys, don't patronize this place. Some people on here have an agenda, either for the bar owner or against the baths. But I'm telling you the truth. I'm a CSU student, I know the area, and I'm looking out for the 20 and 30 something guys here. The dirty old men and supertwinks can keep on patronizing Mean Bull, the Stallion, and other dives.

    Mar 4, 2010 at 5:55am ·

  • DJKode gave this place *
    It's Not A Bath House Bar.. So Shut Your Hole!
    Myself & four friends checked out Mean Bull Niteclub a few weekends ago. Despite the widespread rumours of the bar being "inadequite", we felt is was worth atleast checking out. The bar itself is a nice layout, with the entrance to the club on the side of the building - completely seperate from Flex itself, even with a seperate parking lot across the street. The bar offered friendly and well knowledgable bartenders, coat check, and a dancefloor with lighting effects quite comparable to The Grid Niteclub. There is an exit door in the back of the bar that creates easy access into Flex incase you've had too much to drink.. or came to score and didn't.. but it's secured so Flex visitors do not wander into the bar. The DJ the evening we met was a last minute stand in for the resident DJ, and although I was far from impressed, overall.. this bar is the next Grid Niteclub!

    Jan 29, 2010 at 1:29am ·

  • beenthere1 gave this place *
    Don't knock it!
    Obviously, those that are upset have not been there. This is a SEPERATE Club from the bathouse, seperate entrance, seperate everything...it's brand new, so evertything is clean and new...no sex in the bar, the place is always clean...it's the same as any other club except nicer and better. If you don't believe it, come check it out for yourself!

    Jan 20, 2010 at 11:48pm ·

  • lesbianannie gave this place *
    Classy place to be
    Very classy place to be! Thank you for opening your doors to allow the women also! For the guys there are lots of very cute and hot men in there. The bartenders are great and friendly! Very clean, wonderful music, nice people, and many are involved in the community, both patrons and employees! Very clean and respectable.

    Jan 20, 2010 at 7:50pm ·

  • leatherguy39 gave this place *
    need I say more?
    Men, watch yourself here. It is like walking on stepping stones if you know what i mean. Also a certain area of mine was grabbed on numerous occasions by unknown people. Not a good area especially at night. Leather stalion around the corner also in a very, very bad area.

    Jan 6, 2010 at 4:31am ·

  • cleveland gave this place *
    Mean Bull Night Club
    here's how this works... 400+ patrons, 4 hours of dancing, cocktails and food throughout the night, 5 bartenders, three managers, 2 DJ's, security, police, parking for everyone, and patrons dancing until 4:00 AM. Anyone that doesn't admit they had a great time, doesn't belong in Cleveland. My friends and I came all the way in from the eastern college. We had a great time. Thank you Mean Bull. Finally, our City is back on the map.
    first review First to Review

    Dec 27, 2009 at 6:25pm ·

  • bigger gave this place *
    Douche
    You would have to be a douche to make a special trip here. If your in a bathouse drinking, i have to ask, why aren't you getting layed? If you must drink here, yu are too ug to get layed.

    Dec 26, 2009 at 6:31pm ·

  • daddymack gave this place *
    Stain on my shoe
    I chose to give this place a try as the crowds were thin on xmas eve. I stepped in a "puddle" of man juice. Once the grossness-hotness subsided, I felt weird of finishing my drink.

    Dec 26, 2009 at 3:13am ·

  • gojira gave this place *
    New management at Flex
    Soon after opening the owner of Flex had to hire a new manager. Their solution: open a bar at the baths. Now you can't tell if men are vomiting because of drunkenness or because of eating too much jizz.

    Dec 26, 2009 at 3:04am ·

  • boyleathr gave this place *
    What a jolt
    I was led to believe this was a club. Showed up and found the Flex baths. Didn't go in. Hamilton Avenue is night the right street for a nice white boy to be driving down at midnight on a Friday. Forget about it. Stick to the Leather Stallion if you absolutely have to drink in dangerous neighborhoods.

    Dec 26, 2009 at 2:39am ·

  • jujube101 gave this place *
    It smells like bj's in here
    Get plowed then smashed. Ha! I saw a guy do golden shower play in a common area then saw him in bar. OK i watched a golden shower, i admit it. But then he gets served at bar. Did he clean himself? This place is noumber 1 on my barfometer.

    Dec 26, 2009 at 1:14am ·

  • csudude gave this place *
    Get drunk at a bathhouse?!
    It's not a real gay bar. It's a bar located inside a bathhouse. For out-of-towners, Cleveland's 2 baths have suffered a serious decline in patronage over the last several years. Today, most bathhouse customers are the sort of guys who can't get laid at a bar. So, you wanna meet these guys at the Mean Bull? Go ahead and knock yourself out. Just don't bring an STD home.

    Dec 26, 2009 at 12:07am ·

  • LilJay gave this place *
    W T F
    Ok it was kinda crazy for a Halloween party when the bar is not even finished.i found it a bit DANGEROUS.I would never go back.

    Nov 19, 2009 at 2:47pm ·





Back to Mean Bull »